Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Im listening, but not hearing it!

Thingus

Alright guys, you havn't failed me yet, so heres my next question.

I have been playing for almost 5 years now, and I can right original bass lines, but I have trouble sitting down and trying to play what I hear on cds.

I know everyone is going to say "just listen", and trust me, I have!

Any tips that can help me out?

Im just a dreamer

Dreaming my life away

• Replies 18
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It depends what you're listening to. Use blues as an easy exampe: THere are a handful of progressions and I guarantee that you recognize the I-IV. When you recognize it, then you know what the next chord is before you play or hear it. This is how experienced players can sit in with people they don't know and play songs they haven't rehearsed without missing a beat.

If you're playing rock, especially of the newer/modern varities, the game is a little more complicated because there isn't a trademark progression to fall back upon.

What to do? I'd suggest to tell us what kind of music you want to play and more focused advice will come your way.

...think funky thoughts... :freak:

I've found it's a lot easier if you can hum the part. This is something I don't hear other people mention too often, but its the only way I can break down difficult parts.

I get to where I can hum the line (eventually, you don't really have to hum it out loud) then I pause the CD, and keep humming the line. Then I just play along with what I'm humming. If the line is too fast, I hum it more slowly until I can play along, taking it one note at a time. If I get stuck on a note, I just hold that note (with my hum) until I find it with my fingers.