Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

playing down to the level of the band

getz out

I have been mulling about an issue for the past couple of weeks, and I thought I'd take a second to share with you fine folks on the forum, and maybe get either some feedback, war stories, or advice. Maybe I just want to write and think some things through.

I am not a blow-out player with lighting fast chops by any means. I consider myself a smart player; I have a good ear, respectable chops, a good knowledge of theory, and a knack for arranging all instruments in a typical rock-band setting. I'm also a decent writer.

Over the past four years, I have not been playing out to any significant degree. I will occasionally fill in for a band here or there, but nothing steady. About one year ago, a very close high school friend of mine mentioned he had started a band. They had been rehearsing and writing for about two months when the bass player called it quits.

This friend was a guitarist. However, we will use that term loosely. He's actually a sax player, and a great one at that. However, he decided he was going to play guitar. This kid has a GREAT ear, but has the occasional lapses of fundamental guitar playing. The drummer was brand new to the kit, with ZERO musical training. However, he had natural talent, and I couldn't believe my ears when he played. He had a natural sense of rhythm. However, he still was VERY rough around the edges. The vocalist showed signs of life, but was VERY inconsistent.