Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need advice on amp upgrade

dohhhhh6

As some of you know, I've been thinking about a new (bigger + more powerful) amp for ages. With Guitar Center's 39th anniversary extravaganza this month, a purchase is definetly a possibilitie.

Now for a small recap of my background. I've been playing bass for about 8 months, and I'm really wanting to jam with some other people. I've been taking lessons from a great teacher for my whole bass career and know how to play slap, finger, and pick (although I prefer fingers and slap) and know some theory. Right now, I only know 2 guitarists that I'd even think of about doing something with and occaisionally play some stuff with one of them (without a drummer). The same guitarist I do some stuff with really wants to get a band together, but we don't know any drummers that we'd consider playing with. I currently have a 15 watt Crate amp that would leave plenty to be desired in terms of loudness in pretty much any band like setting.

So right now I'm wondering, "Am I really gonna go to the next level where this bigger amp will be useful?" Now I know this question can only truely be answered by me, but I was wondering if you fellow lowdowners think that it would be a good decision to buy an amp I could use in a band setting in the future? I just don't wanna fork over 300 bucks or so (a lot of money for an unemployed 14 yr. old) for something I won't need. Remember I'm only in 8th grade this year, which means I have pretty much 4 years to get something together without worrying about the future of the band with the intervention of college.

Now to tell you what I'm looking at for the upgrade. In this catalouge type thing I got from GC, there's an SWR LA-15 100-watt combo for $249.99. By looking at the amp you'll probably understand that I'm looking for an amp that A) will able to be heard even when played with a drum kit in the vicinity and B) doesn't cost that much.