Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice for my next bass?

JLM

I'm currently playing a Peavy Milestone 3, with 2 J pickups. I recently took my flat wounds off and went back to round wounds. Well I prefered the flats. Since I'm in the market for another bass I thought I'd look for one that would emphasize the flat wound sound. My budget is around a grand. My main problem is there is no selection at the local music store, so I'll probably mail order one. I'd just like to try and order the right one. I'm open to suggestions for bass's or just types of pickups. If I can find a used one somewhere I can replace the pickups myself if need be. Thanks.

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If youve got a grand to spend on a bass, screw buying a crappy fender! go for something that will last you a long time. Ive been playing for 16 years and I have played a wide variety of instruments in my career. Fenders are at the bottom of the spectrum! I would highly recomend buying a spector bass, the one i have has served me faithfully for years. Another great bass to look into are the Paul Reed Smith's, or if your looking to have some fun, why not customize a bass from the ground up? order it piece by piece that way you can ensure that you get exactly what your looking for. Its a lot cheaper than what you think. I just recently customized one myself, it was the 3rd one i have done.

In the end, whatever you choose to do, be sure to shop around and choose an instrument that best suites your playing style. Good luck man!

Come on baby, dont fear the reaper

-Wayward son