Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A more defined path...?

JDL

As we all know, there is no certain "path" to follow, to break into the music business. For those who have already "broken in," share your story of how you did. And, for those who have a better understanding of the "undefined path," please share maybe a guideline that would help bassists considering to go the "undefined path."

Maybe for those bassists that are in the "rock star" "phase," this could be a good dose of reality. Please share.

Peace,

JDL

• Replies 1
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I don't know if I have found "a way in." But I am a professional musician. Of course, much of my income comes by teaching...but I do make a significant income by playing.

Luck is no more than preparation...and being in the right place at the right time. But you can be in that "right place" all the time...and wait for the right time.

The ONLY thing you can do to "break in" is to prepare yourself to take advantage of things as they come along.

That means practice, purchases, lessons and other training. It also means not closing any doors.

One of the best "ways in" it music college. Of course, you have to play in college...but most college players begin to get offered gigs. I remember my first paid orchestra gig.

I came upon URB classical playing late...I had played electric for some time. My first year of being a bass major, I sat in the back of the section and tried to hide. I also practiced; in fact, I joined a couple of freebie community orchestras to increase my skill.

Second year of study, I assumed the same role, but in fact, the orchestra director noticed my rehearsal preparation. Also, 3 of the previous years top players had left the orchestra. That left 3 of us...the other 2 were All-Staters on bass...I was a beginner. However, by the first concert, I was principal bass...a position I never relenquished for the remainder of my college career.