Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Need String Advice

actrade

I've been playing for about 18 months, enjoying myself immensely, but have hesitated to change strings. Actually, I've bought 7 basses in the 18 months and haven't played any single one very much, yet. I guess I've found it easier to change basses than strings :P So, after my severe bout of GAS, I need to find a site that describes the differences in the different types of strings and when to use what with which kind of bass. I don't think my marriage will allow me to buy another bass so I'd better learn something here! I found a link on how to change strings, but don't really know the in's and out's of flatwounds, half rounds, etc. I have played a fretless with smooth strings (flat's, I assume) and really liked the fact that they're easy on the fingers as I play at home quite a bit every day. For reference, I play mostly 4/5 string Fender Jazz basses and 4/5 string G&L basses if that helps. Thanks.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply