Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Battery life in active Basses

Warwick Fan

Hi All,

This is my first post on this forum. I am a beginner who has been playing and taking lessons for about 7 months now. I started on an Ibanez GSR 200 then saved up and bought my dream Bass, an active Warwick Corvette Standard with an Ash body (lighter than bubinga with a brighter tone) and a beautiful emerald green finish. The sound of this Bass is silky smooth.

The only problem is that I had to replace the 9v battery that came with the bass after only 1 week of use. Is this normal??

Also, when I switched into passive mode the tone was very distorted. Is this the Bass' way of telling me that the battery needed to be replaced?? Any advice/help from the wealth of knowledge on this forum is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Always remember when you put iot into active mode,turn it off.On mine I have to push the knob down,that happened to me before also ,and unplug your instrument cable after playing because it will run it down fast that way.Take it from me,I know.
Pete Combs...

Originally posted by Warwick Fan:

Hi All,

This is my first post on this forum. I am a beginner who has been playing and taking lessons for about 7 months now. I started on an Ibanez GSR 200 then saved up and bought my dream Bass, an active Warwick Corvette Standard with an Ash body (lighter than bubinga with a brighter tone) and a beautiful emerald green finish. The sound of this Bass is silky smooth.

The only problem is that I had to replace the 9v battery that came with the bass after only 1 week of use. Is this normal??

Also, when I switched into passive mode the tone was very distorted. Is this the Bass' way of telling me that the battery needed to be replaced?? Any advice/help from the wealth of knowledge on this forum is greatly appreciated. Thanks.