Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Good Dub???

DigiVoices

Does anyone out there have any recommendations for good dub? I've looked around but I really haven't been able to find anything that isn't just some guy with a mixer.

My favorite dub album that i have now is the Gorilliz vs. Space Monkeys if you can get pasted the name the music is great downtempo dub with a reggae feel. Recently I also bought "Dub side of the moon" which as i'm sure you can tell from the title is "Dark side of the moon" redone dub style. This was a waste of 10 bucks, Pink Floyd did it right the first time...DUH! :evil:

Basically I'm looking for anything that ya'll think is worth a listen. I definitely perfer all instruments over electronic stuff.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no expert but I've heard of Lee "Scratch" Perry. I did a google search and found this http://upsetta.tripod.com/ and some other stuff. I also did a search on dub music and got lots of results. I checked out dub.com . I'm also searching on Bill Laswell who was in Bassplayer not long ago. Trying to hear some samples, I'd like to hear something from this album- Jah Wobble+Bill Laswell:Radioaxiom A Dub Transmission.

Let us know what you discover! I couldn't find anything (yet) by the Gorillaz vs. Spacemonkeys.

"Don't Ask Me I'm Just The Bassplayer" UBP

You can check out Gorilliaz here Gorilliaz

I think you can listen the entire album, if you can find the link to take you to it. If you don't have a flash player or a high speed connection don't bother.

Here is another fun app if you have flash.

Dub Selector

I've tried the google searches before and of course it comes up with A LOT of sites, but 3/4 of it isn't that good. There's a lot of bad dub out there. I was hoing someone would have a favorite they could pass along...