Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Advice on recording a demo

I'm still learning about recording and would like to get advice from you all. The post is long because I'm trying to give you all the details so thanks for you patience. My cover band will be re-recording our demo (different songs than our current one) and I would like some advice whether I can get a decent demo with what I'm planning to do. The band consists of drums, bass, guitar and up to two vocals. We will probably record "Inside Out" by Eve6, "I Want You to Want Me" by Cheap Trick, "Ready to Go" by Republica and possibly "American Girl" by Tom Petty. Here's what I have: Digi001 w/PTLE on a PIII 866MHz, 384MB RAM, two 7600 RPM drives. 1 Presonus Blue Tube preamp 1 RNC1773 compressor 2 MXL V63M mics 1 Studio Projects C1 mic 1 AKG D112 2 AKG drum clip-on mini-mics (I forget the model number) 2 SM57 mics 3 SM58 mics POD 2.0 (although I like the sound I get from the rec out of my guitar amp) SansAmp (the original one) I'm planning on buying another C1 mic. For recording: Drums: D112 (Digi001 pre) on kick, SM57 (Digi001 pre) on snare, two C1 (BlueTube pre => RNC => Digi001) as OH. Bass: straight into Digi001 probably via Boss CS3 compressor/sustainer pedal and possibly through the "Bass" setting of the SansAmp Guitar: straight into Digi001 from amp rec out Vocals: SM58 for scratch, C1 => BlueTube => RNC => Digi001 for overdub I'm not sure if I need a preamp for the guitar and bass directs. If I do, instead of getting dedicated mic pres, I was looking to getting a used Mackie 1202 or 1402 VLZ Pro. I would like to use (or at least try) the AKG mini-mics but I only have two and the drummer uses more than two toms although I can ask him to use only two. If so, then I would definitely need more mic pres. Also, if I use 6 channels for drums, then one each for bass and guitar, I couldn't record scratch vocals. We haven't tried playing without vocal cues so I'm not sure we ca