Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Another Question...

ernest828

I went to Sam Ash today with the mindset that I would get myself a Peavey Fury IV bass until I heard some buzzing on the D string on frets 4, 5, 6, and 7.

I thought this was because the string was set too low but after some careful looking at the neck, the neck appeared to dip slightly around those frets. The neck only dipped on one side of the fretboard so is this a possible reason for the buzzing on those frets on just the D string?

The bass is on sale for $399 and I love it but I was a little hesistant after I heard the buzz. Oddly I only noticed the buzz when I was playing the bass NOT plugged in. Whatever is going on there with the neck is not affecting the sound when plugged in.

I am a beginner bass player and really have no experience buying a bass but I was lucky the first time when I purchased a Fender J bass and now I am looking for a second bass for a variety of sounds and I just love the feel of the narrow neck so I am looking to get the bass but obviously not the one I was playing today. Unfortunately they did not have any others in the back so I had to leave empty handed.

Thanks for any help and suggestions you have on this matter.

Ernest

• Replies 6
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Well, if it's the neck that has a defect, it could lead to bigger and better problems down the road. But, if it's not at all audible through an amp, then you should change the strings and check it again. If it's still not audible, talk them down from the price, if it's going to be a backup bass. They have a good return policy, so, if you find that it bothers you too much, bring it back and get your cash back and find something else. Of course, this is only the case if you absolutely loved that bass. I would keep shopping. Also, I would tell them. Robb would know more about what Peavey could do about it, but, I'm sure they'd replace it for the store if not the buyer.