Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Now I know what I was doing wrong and why I never got anywhere playing bass!

HypnoBassMan

I just started playing bass again after about 25 years of not playing. And, just the other day I figured out why I never got anywhere and quit! :idea:

I was using a visual approach to music. I know it seems dumb, but I was always having people SHOW me stuff! Emphasis on _SHOW_ me stuff. It was a bad habit that I got into when I just started. When I started playing bass I had a friend who was a relatively good guitar player, and he always did me the favor of learning the bass part and showing it too me. That really stunted my growth as a musician. :cry:

As a result, it was only now that I have started all over again have I given serious consideration to learning parts by ear. I have only figured out a few songs, but now that I know that I can do it, I feel alot more confident and optimistic about my future as a bass player! :D

Excuse me, but I just had to make this confession to someone. Hopefully someone will benefit from this insight a little earlier in his or her bass playing career :)

HypnoBassMan

HypnoBassMan

The deeper you go the better you feel! (True for bass and hypnosis.)

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Great to see your back into it :thu: I was like that in the beginning, but luckly I had a good bass teacher, who realy stressed doing it by ear as much as possible. I'm quite thankful for that now :P
These words, are sledgehammers of truth.

As a result, it was only now that I have started all over again have I given serious consideration to learning parts by ear. I have only figured out a few songs, but now that I know that I can do it, I feel alot more confident and optimistic about my future as a bass player!
You said it man! Congrats on your eyes becoming "opened"! Best of luck in your future!
Beware the lollipop of mediocrity; one lick and you suck forever.