Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

perfect match head and cabinet

bassa

Hi guys, just found this great forum on the web. i'm a poor german student and I just joined a rock band, after years of playin in funk cover bands. I have never experienced such a wall of guitar sound before, so how do I get the attention I deserve for my bass playing? I don't have a lot of money and the german market for used equipment (even ebay) is bad, prices for new gear are ridiculous.

anyway, I managed to get a warwick sonic III amp with 300 watts at 4 ohm, and now I'm looking for the right cabinet. options are: 8 ohm or 4 ohm, peavey black widow 15 inch cabinet (350w), the new hartke vx series (which is not available here yet, but should I wait, these are 8ohm speakers). I really think I'll need a speaker that brings out all the amps power so I can compete with my two 4*12 stack guitar friends. what do you think? I'm thankful for every little piece of information...

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

You'll get the most power by getting a 4 ohm cabinet...300 watts should see you through fine in that situation w/ the right cabinet.

Get yourself a 4X10. 10" speakers tend to cut better...I used to play in a band with three guitarists...all with 100 watt tube amps and I had no problems being audible with 300 watts.

SWR, Eden, Ampeg are good models. I haven't heard the Warwick cabinets, but I imagine they're good. Trace Elliott gear has a lot of respect as well, although I'm not fond of it myself (Graphic EQ for bass? Too much...).

I don't like Hartke speakers at all, but many people do...play through as many different models as you can...you'll find something you like.

Do as much research as you can about what's out there. I discovered my Acme cabinet after doing some online searching, bought one without even knowing what it really sounded like, and I've been ultra happy. Good luck.

How much money do you have to spend?

Yep...