Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

So...describe "your" sound.

zujo

What tone sets you apart from other fellow bass players?

How do you achive certain tones o your gear?

Are you a tone freak tweaking per song overthe course of the gig?

"Word to your mother"

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Classifying myself as an intermediate player, I haven't totally perfected my "own" tone yet. I'm still working on it. However, I do like to tweak my sounds from song to song while playing. I tend to like a good clean sound over an overdrive, cause something about an overdriven bass in church just doesn't fly! ;)

I achieve my sounds through the Bass Pod run into our sound system, and by mixing up the effects a little I can get a good clean, crisp sound with a little bit of dripping chorus and I think it sounds great for what we play. On softer songs I like to use the Jazz amp setting with no effects because it really sounds good. I'm still learning, and still perfecting that "me" tone. I'm sure I'll find it someday!

"Remembers being small, laying under the table and dreaming...."

Wee I geuss I shoulve posted mine too

I like three basic sounds in oarticular.

The classic 'mid scoop' for slapping a little heavier on bass than treble.

The jazz 'mid tone' almost fretless like sound with little or almost no highs

The rock "picking" tone with middle bass and mids boosted with somewhat highs just to enhance presence.

I find that you can play almos every gig interchangin between these three.

"Word to your mother"

Very true, and my favorite sound of those three is probably the Jazz tone, although I just love all the tones in a bass! That good clean fretless jazz sound is hard to beat, though.
"Remembers being small, laying under the table and dreaming...."

My sound's hardly unique...although people often comment positively on it, so I must be doing something right. :D