Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

looking for advice about where to go next (music knowledge)

Jay J.

ok, I have been playing bass now for about 4 years and I would say that I am a very good technical player. I can play just about anything I put my mind too and pretty good. but my musical ability is not that good. my music theory knowlegde is not much, I know some scales and enough to play with people but I don't know a whole lot. I'm not looking to be a theory master or anything I just want to improve musically. I have good playing ability but my musicianship could use a lot of work. I'm woundering what to do. are there any good books to read or do you really have to get lessons of some kind. my experiance with bass lessons has not been very good yet. I have done them for a while but the guy us usually about my age and I feel like I don't gain much from them.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I'm running into my 6th year of playing the bass and I didn't start to really dive into music until about two years ago (which is about where you are I guess). The way I got into learning theory was writing music, I wanted to know what I could do to write better songs. I was also taking lessons from a local violinist that focused on jazz theory and improv rather than technic that most bass lessons will get you. I found that learning theory out of books can get old and is easy to just put down, whereas lessons (from a good teacher) can get you motivated to learn. I also picked up another instrument while learning music and that helped a bit too. I'm a sophmore in college and I took music 101 last year, intro to music theory. Just from my lessons I knew everything we did in the class plus some, and my lessons were once a week from June to September. Maybe I was just lucky, but look into private lessons, or even classes at a JC or something. Best of Luck!

If you're ever looking for me,

a don't go too far.