Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What's a preamp for? Is it essential?

JDL

Um, I'm not a beginner, but I was wondering what a preamp was for. I know this must be a really obvious question. Do you have one? I have a preamp out place in my amp and wanted to know what that was for. Does it add stuff to the tone, power, etc.?

Oh, and what is the cheapest one out there? Which one do you have(if any)?What would a good one be? I just want to know if it is essential. Thanx for the help.

JDL-preamphelppeace

• Replies 36
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Paging greenboy.....

From my limited understanding preamps do several things.

They range from the little ones onboard, which beef up the signal, perhaps do some impedance magic, add tone control to the bass...

Every combo amp or even bass head you've ever seen had a preamp combined with a power amp...and a pre amp section and post amp section.

In the other post, the pre-amp is a part of an amplification component system. By using a separate power amp driving the speaker array, you can use power very efficiently...even bi amp and stuff...

But power amps have no tone controls at all...signal in is boosted and sent out. To use one, you have the option of using a Preamp to handle all eq stuff.

Among the advantages would be...you have the choice of preamps for shaping your tone, choice of power amp, ohmage, wattage, s/n level...you can mix and match.

With a pre-amp system, you could come closer to dialing in "your tone" and flying to a gig with just the pre-amp and performing with "your tone."

Pre-amps are essential. Thing is, all active basses already have 'em (that's what "active" means) and all traditional amps have them as well.

Do you need one? In a word, no. (Okay, there are a million reasons why you might need one.)

"Let's raise the level of this conversation" -- Jeremy Cohen, in the Picasso Thread.