Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help - any bass teachers out there?

DML655321

OK, I've been playing bass (and guitar) for about 12 years, I play in a band here in LA, and I'd like to start teaching some lessons for extra cash. I've never taught bass lessons before, and I'm sure I could scare up some clients, but I'm not quite sure how to get them started. Any bass teachers out there - let me know if there are good books for beginners, any good resources online or elsewhere for exercises, etc. Any advice would also be greatly appreciated!

Oh, I play electric, rock-style, and I figure I'll be teaching beginners. I don't have school training, but I've had a lot of lessons & teachers, good & bad, to learn from. I'm a pretty weak music reader, but I can sharpen up pretty quick if need be.

Feel free to contact me off-list: david@thesatchelpages.com

Thanks,

David

www.thesatchelpages.com

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

This has been discussed before, in great depth. You'll find a lot of information by using a search.

I would just add...make sure you have something to sell before you try to sell it.

Great playing does not a great teacher make...I don't mean to sound rude, but "picking up extra cash" is not the best motivation for becoming a teacher. Yeah, the cash is nice.

I personally would not send a student to someone who couldn't read really well. Also, I would make sure you were very well versed in many different styles. It's a small market if you only teach those who like the same music you like.