Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Where's that damn drummer?

Foot

Hi,

I'm pretty new to posting here though I've been reading for a while. I was just wondering if anyone here has any experience in a drummerless situation. I've tried to make a bass and acoustic guitar thing work for a while but it always sounds like its missing the propulsion that drums provide so well. If anyone has any tips or maybe some interesting experiences to share I'd be much obliged.

• Replies 22
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm afraid there's no substitute for a good drummer. (Of course, I was a drummer for 28 years -- so I might be a little prejudiced here.) Be good to your drummer. Treat him or her with respect, and you'll have good drummers beating down your door for a chance to play.

In the meantime . . . ? Some people use drum machines, but would you use a BASS machine? (I didn't think so.)

My first band had no drummer. I ended up doing kinda the percussive thing on bass. Usually, i would sorta smack the strings with my right hand on beats two and four(this eventually became a bad habit). Check out bluegrass...those fellas don't have drummers and there is always some rythymic pulse going from the constant one and three of the bass, the mandolin strums, or even the soloist playing mainly 16th note phrasing. I've even played jazz in a solo or duet situation(no drummer) The bass had to be swinging...hard. I think Larry Graham's first gig was without a drummer and he incorporated the whole slap thing. Now it's your turn to be creative... :thu:

I play a lot of gigs without a drummer. They are usually jazz trios--guitar, bass, and flute. If your playing is really solid you shouldn't need a drummer.

Sometimes I actually prefer it without a drummer. The time and the feel are where I say it is, the volume level is really low and I am able to interact wonderfully with the other instruments.