Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Code Writers

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply
PS - I should read the fucking post properly first ;) C++ would be my choice too.

Korg Kronos X73 / ARP Odyssey / Motif ES Rack / Roland D-05 / JP-08 / SE-05 / Jupiter Xm / Novation Mininova / NL2X / Waldorf Pulse II

MBP-LOGIC

American Deluxe P-Bass, Yamaha RBX760

Seeing as I'm a software engineer and not guitar player during the day :( , I'll offer an opinion. C++ is probably your best bet. If you're developing for Microsoft, then C++ will give you the most access to the OS (the API is intended to support C++). I'm not a huge fan of Microsoft, but I will admit that they've made it very easy to build user interfaces using their C++ environment. And yes, you can build interfaces with Visual Basic, but VB won't give you as much access to the OS and doesn't have nearly as many language features as C++. Are you thinking of accessing the sound card? DirectX supports C++ the best. If you're developing for Mac, then I'm not sure (but would guess C++) because I haven't developed on that platform. By the way, the latest stuff I've been working on is the brains for an embedded real-time countermeasure system. I'd much rather work for Cakewalk, but the commute to Boston from NH is a killer.

In an effort to improve the responsiveness of e-mail for everyone, the e-mail servers will be out of service.

We are hopeful that this change will improve the performance of e-mail.