Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

dangerous new trend in commercials ?

D_dup3

I've been a musician since I was a preteen & a regular writer/composer (with some small success, mostly in the world of local commercials).

We've all seen the incresed use of pop music tunes in the past couple decades, with "classics" being used in both films & TV ads & an increasingly rapid turnover of new hit songs being sold for commercials.

I've noticed a new trend, however: the use of music that captures the "feel" of hits by mimicking their harmonic & rhythmic elements & thereby bypassing copyright laws.

I've heard commercials on national TV programming that so closely imitate recent hits by Pink, No Doubt & OutKast that are so close you can name the tune in seconds but, as said, they do this by slightly altering the song's parts.

Have ad agencies finally caught on to the perfect way to exploit writers?

• Replies 17
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Wow! Thanks for the info, d. I must admit I haven't noticed this trend yet myself, although I have been cutting down on TV time and generally hit the mute button (or turn the volume down) whenever commercials are aired.

How can anyone get away with this? Ok, sure, you can't copyright a chord progression, and the '50s are full of I/vi/IV/V songs, and the various forms of a 12-bar blues are still going strong.

But the type of music you've cited is probably more identifiable by the beat or the rhythm. How are the rhythms being "slightly altered"? Add or remove an 8th or 16th? Played karaoke-style, like a poorly played cover? You can't copyright a rhythm per se. For example, you can't copyright "thump thump CLAP " (3 quarters and a quarter rest), but try to use it and see how fast Brian May and Queen take you to court over infringing on "We Will Rock You". (I sure hope they make royalties everytime that gets played at a sporting event.)