Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

4 inch 16 track analog

Just curious - why did analog tape stop at 2 inches? Was there ever any 3 or 4 inch designs that got scrapped at the last minute? Or is the tape just to wide to work properly at 3 inches? I guess you would need heavy duty rollers and transports.... There is a company called JRF that makes a 2 inch 8 track head. So the next step would be 4 inch 16 track....Would sound real fat, no doubt....
The thoughts expressed in this post are the opinions of SF audio and MAY be used or misquoted anywhere you want, either in print,on the internet, or on the bathroom walls....

• Replies 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I'm no expert, but I do know there were 3" machines built. The problem with anything larger than 2" is the physical weight of the blank media. You've picked up 2" reels, right? A 3" reel would be 50% heavier, and a 4" reel would weigh in at 100% more, or twice the weight of a 2"reel. It's difficult to build a machine to control reels of that weight. The cost of such a machine, well built, would be enormous as well, and the sonic value would be difficult to justify given the inherent difficulty of moving and stopping such reels. Maintanance costs would most probably be excessive as well, along with thermal considerations, etc. Let's not forget the cost of blank media would be outrageous. It just isn't practical.

It's easiest to find me on Facebook. Neil Bergman

Soundclick

fntstcsnd

You'd need the brakes off of a GMC 2 ton truck to stop the reels when you hit "stop" while rewinding! Plus, you'd need a 350ci V8 to get the capstan up to speen when you hit "play"!

GY