Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Like making music in the computer?

Hey guys. I keep hearing about more and more people wanting to do most of their music right in the computer. With cool things like Reason, Logic, Cubase, DP, Protools and the rest it's getting closer to having that virtual studio cover most of the hardware tools in software now. One of the coolest things I've seen (and as a sound developer I've seen most) is Sampletank. It sounds incredible and it is one of the only true software "romplers" as some like to call it. In other words it is a virtual sound module not too much unlike hardware modules such as the JV or QS series from Roland or Alesis...except that with it being in software it is not limited to small sized samples. That opens up a lot of doors for better quality instruments with realism and expression. There are a lot of specific task plug-ins that emulate analog synths, organs, drum machines, samplers etc. But, this product line is different. It is majorly driven by the sound content put in it and that means that there are a wider variety of usable sounds out of the box with each Sampletank product (including some third party ST modules that I've worked on). It's not the kind of thing you can tweak until the end of time (like Reaktor) but it is nice to have all of those sounds ready to play and the great effect processing to go along with it. Very musically friendly. I am posting here because if you don't know about this, then you should. I don't make Sampletank, but like I said, I am a sound developer who makes sounds in a wide variety of formats ranging from Akai, Emu, Kurzweil, Roland, Yamaha to Sample Cell, REASON, EXS24, HALion and Sampletank. My company, Sonic Reality, recently made a special line of third party Sampletank modules (Sonic Synth and expansionROM discs) and I just got finished making some demo riffs of it so you could hear what a software rompler can sound like (compared to what w