Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Have DJs really killed the live scene? (repost)

(i posted this on the keyboard forum but thought it would be good on here)

After some comments on the post about wedding music.. i was having a think about the whole topic of DJs.. and how they are accused of killing the live music scene.

Now before you all shoot me... i am a musician and have been put out of many a job because of DJs....

lets have a think about this..

Many venues use DJs cos it is cheaper. I guess its fair enough... money is tight.. they are running a business...

But what about the other reasons we hear;

bands dont sound as good...

they are harder to work with...

DJs have more songs...

the crowd likes th dj....

the vibe is better with a dj...

we make more money with the dj....

etc etc...

So... what if the bands had become better at playing all the favourite songs?... and built a rapor with the crowd, and sounded tight and clear, and were a pleasure to work with... and brought a killer vibe and hundreds of paying customers...? I wonder if it would still be the same situation?

I play a lot of venues that have both... Band and the time between sets is a dj and for 3 hours after the band.

Any comments?

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I think DJ's and bands are suited to different crowds. People want to see bands for the experience of the music and performance. People want to groove to music DJ's are smackin' around. Why DJ's may be more popular... accessibility perhaps. Maybe said bands aren't tried and true in the community yet and the venues don't want to take too much of a chance.

I can't say I've lost anything to a DJ other that one that was a comp'd freebie anyway for tips and drinks.

I have worked several split gigs with DJs and these gigs were split three ways with the DJ, my friend's band, Somebody's Son, who play Southern Rock and Blues, and me a solo acoustic act.