Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Why doesn't digital sound as good as analogue?

• Replies 107
  • Created
  • Last Reply
I think it probably has to do with phase/timing issues, but at this point, I don't really care. I am not a designer or manufacturer of digital gear, and the day one of those guys comes up with something that blows me away, I'll be anxious to hear their take on what made the difference. Until then, after years of arguing with people about this stuff and trying to figure out how to get digital to sound better and futzing around with different converters and latency correction and dither and other crap, and not getting the results I want, and not hearing anybody else getting the results I want either, I cry "uncle." I don't care why anymore! There are much brighter minds than mine working on this problem, and better them than me :D , cuz I'd rather just be making music and not hurting my ears anymore, or arguing about it.

Originally posted by Johnny B:

Why doesn't digital sound as good as analogue?

First off,I don't think it neccessarily does sound better,and I come from over 30 years experience in mostly tape based studios.
Simple question.
It's really not that simple because I personally like certain aspects of both.I like the detail of digital especially for classical and certain acoustic material where it usually got lost on tape,but I love tape for louder electric instruments not just for warmth but where it places it in the audio spectrum.Of course there are plenty of examples to contradict everything I'm saying both ways.Simple? Not really.
"A Robot Playing Trumpet Blows"

At this point, they're just different, I think. I generally prefer the sound of analog for many things, especially in pop and rock, but recognize that for certain applications, digital is probably a better application (low-volume stuff, for instance).