Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

My first ride in an ambulance (Or why I hate townhouses)

Well, I did it last Friday morning. Stepped outside to get the paper, slipped on the wet grass and broke my ankle in two places. I managed to crawl back into the house (Help! I've fallen and I can't get up!) and got in touch with my wife before she made it to work. She came home and between her and a neighbor, there was no way they were going to get me to the car. (I'm a pretty big guy) So, I got my first broken bone and first ambulance ride after 54 years of relative orthopaedic health. The ER splinted my ankle, today I got a hard cast, in a month I'll progress to a walking cast. So, I've got several weeks of climbing the stairs one step at a time on my butt, trying to figure out how to bathe, not to mention what am I going to do for work?! I'm a delivery driver, and that's definitely out, hopefully I can do some light duty stuff around the warehouse after I figure out how to get to the car and drive. I've got band jobs coming up the next two weekends, that should be fun, playing sitting down. Don't think I'll be much help with loading equipment, either. The ironic thing is that the day before New Years Eve, our drummer stepped on a brick coming down from a ladder, and tore ligaments and muscles on his (kick) ankle. He made it through the night and did pretty well, so I guess I can play sitting down. Oh, well, enough of my rant, it just looks like it's going to be pretty boring the next couple months!

My gear: http://fendercaster.freeservers.com/guit3.html

If you own two Lexus cars, do you have Lexi?

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I had to do a show with a banged up foot. I had to use the stool, too.

But, it was during a Jerry Lewis MD charity event. So the soundman went and changed the sign from "Playing for Muscular Distrophy" to "Playing WITH Muscular Dystrophy".

Leave out a tip jar, too.