Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I'm on Mandrake 10 now...

Well and I dual-booted with Windows.

http://www.phait-accompli.com/crap/mndrk1.jpg

First, others might suggest a different distro, and that's fine, but Mandrake seems to be the compromise for me. I'm no hardcore developer so I don't really need alot of the development oriented stuff, or particular oriented distros.

I usually prefer to have my Windows drive partioned in 2: one for main programs, the other for website dev stuff. Unfortunately I had to jump through a million hoops for some reason just to get the 2 seperate hard drives I do have, formatted and partitioned right - it never was a problem before... I believe the floppy disk for setting up the HDD is corrupted, and I managed to use XP cd's boot utilities and such. Anyway, now Windows is on just one drive, the 80gb, and Linux Mandrake is on the 20gb.

I installed Mandrake on a friend's mutt computer as well - that was more hell to get prepared, I'm not even going into detail its overwhelming, but I can say I did get it working, and Mandrake installing there, although it said it'd take 2 hours. I told my friend to check in every half hour and put in the prompted CD each time.

I have CD's 1 to 3 of Mandrake 10. It asked for a 4th disc, I didn't have it so I said 'no' and it finished installing. Kinda wonder what might've been on that 4th disc, probably some packages I chose. I'm stopping back over there today to see how it went.