Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

How difficult is playing the sax?

Let's say I'm an expert-level guitarist and a nearly-competent pianist with about 30 years being a musician. Do you think it would be difficult to learn to play the sax?

I've never played a reed or wind instrument in my life, so I have no idea what the mechanisms are for making it sound like something anyone would want to hear.

- Jeff

• Replies 46
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Sax is one of the easiest wind instruments. Fingering-wise, it's pretty easy, the trickier parts are the wind and embouchure control. Something different between guitar and wind instruments: tone control and intonation aren't things you have to worry about so much with guitar. Once the guitar's tuned, your tone and tuning are pretty well set. With a wind instrument, you will sound like a child for months, until you develop the musculature and wind control to make a good tone. And the wind control is necessary to keep individual notes in tune. You will want to get some instruction on creating a good tone: if you try to go on your own, you will develop wrong habits, and your musculature will be trained that way, making it hard to change later on.

It will take some time to develop an embochure. This involves optimizing the use of the muscles around the mouth and lips to generate a decent tone and support the proper reed vibration.

If you do get a sax buy the intro book by Larry Teal. I forget the title - but its a classic and tells you what you need to know.

Be careful about choosing a reed strengh and mouthpiece geared towards beginners.

I bought myself an alto this year for my B' day. I haven't played in 25-30 years. Amazingly, my fingers still remembered the notes.

Ah - the joy of Sax.

Check out some tunes here:

http://www.garageband.com/artist/KenFava

Hi Jeff,