Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Recommend me an AP plugin, stand-alone, small footprint, no CPU hog

I run a Dell Latitude with Windows 10, only plugin is AAS Lizard EP-4. I also need an AP plugin, play mostly rock´n blues.

Must be stand-alone, small and no CPU hog, so where to look? Must not be free, but good!

"This is my rig, and if you don´t like it....well, I have others!"

"Think positive...there's always something to complain about!"

Free is good, but i still want stand-alone, I think that´s easier to handle.

I’ve been using Pianoteq for several years and admit I like it a lot.

Pianoteq is very cpu easy. It sounds good. It does stand alone. I believe it has a demo version to try out. It’s not the cheapest option. For rock and blues, you will want to reduce the velocity sensitivity to have a strong presence throughout the velocity range. When I am looking for a “character piano,” samples will get me closer, but PT is a good all rounder.

OK, I´m in Europe, it´s near midnight and I´m out of beer, so good night for now and keep `em coming!

Another +1 for Pianoteq. You have to plan ahead carefully for sample-based pianos, because they feature a mass of WAVs covering every potential type of key strike. If you get into a streaming, round-robin mode, you can start smelling ozone if you haven't fully configured things. A tool of that caliber might be the better choice for exposed classical or solo jazz, but only because some people feel Pianoteq's tone to be a bit too synthetic. In practice, no one on the other side of the keys is likely to know the difference. I like to flange it for that honky-tonk effect.

The Stage version is $139 US/129.74 Euros, which I call dirt cheap for the power it provides. Note that you get a choice of two pianos and access to some freebies like tubular bells.   

• Like 1

"Why can't they just make up something of their own?"