Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

ChatGPT4.0 and music

Lot of future ramifications coming with this thing I reckon.  Between this, 3d printing and automation in general, we might be all well advised to find value in leisure time.   I'm not sure there's too many jobs that aren't replaceable.   I'm a computer analyst and certainly parts of what I do are likely to be done better by "AI" (not a huge fan of that term since to me it implies sentience, but it's convenient!)

People happily watch performers play to tracks even in pubs, not a stretch to think they'll be happy to watch robots gyrate to music written by computers.  One popular cover band where I am has tracks for every instrument, certainly frees them up to jump around and entertain.  They have a massive following.

I'm already using ChatGPT3.0 as a writing assistant for short articles and blog posts.  It can summarize relevant material, organize it, and then critique my writing against any author's standard of my choosing.   Sort of like an editorial assistant, It makes the human more productive, it does not replace the human.

We are already at the point where you can ask a large learning model AI to write music and lyrics about [subject X] using the style of [artist X].  Iterate a few times, and the results are curiously impressive -- more of a quick starting point vs. finished product.  Asking one to recreate Bach can be dizzying to listen to.  I wonder if one has been asked to recreate ELP?

Large learning models like ChatGPT will replace the Siris and Alexas of the world before long.  They are already being used in medicine, finance, intelligence, logistics and so on.  They are only as good as what you feed them, for example a musical LLM fed rap music will only be able to produce rap music.

Much has been said about being able to "trust" the output and avoid "misinformation" -- in reality, their output is no different than real people in that regard.

• Like 1