Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

A call for kindness and a bit of perspective

I was having a conversation last night with some denizens of the hotel I stay at when I'm in Little Rock. They found out I was a musician and started imparting their musical opinions upon me. Being just slightly older than me, I got the expected "lesson" on how the Beatles/Stones/Who/Zepplin Tetrumvirate still dominates in terms of creativity and originality. Then they went genre by genre, completely tearing apart various bands and songs. To their credit, they seemed to actually separate the songs from the personalities that sang/played/recorded/wrote them. But they had nothing good to say about any band. ANY band. I kept wanting to say "You're not looking at this from the right perspective" or "Yes, your points are valid, but that shouldn't completely invalidate the song, the band, or the genre!"

But I didn't...because I do the exact same thing almost every day. Maybe not to the degree that these drunk consultants were doing it, but a difference in degree does not make it different.

So I'm going to try something, and it would be cool if some of you truly polarized folks in the SSS would do the same.Take song you hate from a genre you hate, and try to find something you like about it or even something you can learn from it. If you are absolutely unable to do this, you may want to examine your own motivations and degree of open mindedness.

For example: I cannot stand to listen to an Usher song. I can identify them right away, and I immediately change the station. It's the lyrics and the completely "unblended" mix that set my teeth on edge. But upon a self-forced listening, I can appreciate the stellar recording, the very very present vocals, and the minimalist orchestration...even though there's a ton of space in the mix, it still feels dense and alive.