Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Power Conditioning for the small home studio, 20 amps

Hey all,

All of my prior home studios have been bedrooms (1940’s to 1960’s builds), and like many older homes, three or four breakers were powering most of the house. The original builders just daisy-chained wire from room to room. No surprise, I was getting some interference and noise that could be picked up by my audio interface and/or electronic instruments.

Now I’m finishing up my first ‘purpose built’ basement home studio, and I dedicated four 20-amp breakers for audio-only. They use 10-gauge solid wire and premium Hubbell hospital-grade receptacles, and all of the ground wires for those circuits are tied to a separate, dedicated ground bar, which is then patched into the main ground. I’m not an electrician, so this is my best description of the setup. It should be an improvement over anything I’ve had before.

I haven’t had a chance to test the improvement, but I’ll still need surge suppression/protection for my gear. I’d love to get a Furman Voltage regulator, but you can’t touch a 20-amp unit for less than two-grand. Even a 15-amp unit will run over $1,000 in many cases.

Truth be told, I don’t think I need 20 amps to power a couple of keyboards, my compact mixer, a few rack units, and my DAW CPU (it runs on 15 amps now), but it seems like a waste that I have 20 amps on tap and a 15A limitation on the power conditioner. I could get a Furman PLC-PRO DMC (20-amps) with a volt display, but it doesn’t regulate voltage.

The logical, practical thing for me to do would be to see how clean the power is with nothing, and then opt for whatever is needed for the next level of quiet. But the impulse in me wants to do something proactively.

I’ve looked at Furman, Tripp-Lite, Black Lion, and Southwire, and I’m looking for some semi-affordable 20A protection in the bang-for-the-buck category. 

Any suggestions?

Todd

Sundown