Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

iZotope Ozone 10

I've been checking out Ozone 10. It has a lot of modules so this will develop over time, but of course, I first tried out the AI-driven Mastering Assistant. For those not familiar with it, Ozone listens to a piece of music, then adjusts its various processors to produce what it thinks is a good master, or at least a point of departure for additional tweaking.

Of course, "real" mastering engineers will probably go ballistic, but I'm a real mastering engineer, and I'm not freaking out at all. First, with all due respect, any engineers who think it's going to put them out of a job simply means they're not doing their job. Ozone can't crossfade transitions between songs, skillfully splice out that overindulgent four bars of a solo, determine an album's running order, do deep waveform surgery, run off a vinyl-friendly version, etc. 

What it can do is adjust EQ, dynamics, and imaging. I applied it to a couple of songs where I'd already taken a stab at mastering, to see what it would do. Either surprisingly or not surprisingly, the Ozone version sounded very, very close to what I had done manually. Either that means it's almost as good at mastering as I am, or I'm almost as bad as it is :)

• Like 3
  • Haha 4

I will be interested. 

Of the larger, established plugin companies, Izotope seems a bit ahead of the curve in AI. 

They are now affiliated with Native Instruments who are one of the most established plugin companies and at this point one of the least compatible with Apple Native Silicon. 

The last time I checked, they had Kontakt ready. Even IK Multimedia is ahead of them in that sector. 

Izotope has updated their current offerings, just about everything they sell now is good to go on M1 Macs. 

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.