Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Planning for retirement

Open for general discussion. I'm behind the power curve but mostly because I don't own a house and at this point may never have one fully paid off...but crunching the numbers could be workable to retire and still have the house payment. My financial advisor seems to think so. 

My 401 is aggressive, which has killed me this year, but hopefully enough time to rebound, but I do need to put more into bonds, which I haven't done jack with traditionally.

• Like 3

I'm a college educated engineer and started building my 401k right from the start.  Started thinking about retiring ten years ago by researching states that are favorable, looking to hang it up in seven years.  Covid killed my job two years ago, but the silver lining is shortly after that I was fully vested in my pension after so I rolled it over into my 401k.  

When I was job hunting, I used the state research I had done to decide where to find a job because the plan was to buy the house I was going to retire in.  I could afford to be selective.

Found the perfect job in the perfect state, and found the retirement house of my dreams.  I had socked away six months of severance pay into savings which was used for the down payment on the house.  I'm still healthy and fit so I plan to stay there until I croak.  The new job has an excellent salary and 401k.  

Then I reviewed my portfolio and retirement fund projection with my financial advisor with the new salary.  Although I had bought a house eight years before retirement - due to an abusive ex who damaged my credit record I had to wait for the statute of limitations to clear my record before I could get another mortgage - my projected funds are well placed for the future.  Yes I plan to make advance payments to the mortgage principal.