Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

What would you most want to learn about photography?

If it is genre-specific, please mention that. Just wondering.

For me? I suppose everything, but I always want to no more about doing post-processing a little quicker and better, and composition. I just wanna stay hungry and keep learning.

• Like 1

Lighting, both available and supplemental. Timeless and essential. 

When to use Photoshop (or your choice of software) and when to bake the imaging into the shutter click. 

View camera technique. 

I have some experience in all of those things and am completely distracted from photography at the moment, recording music is my current focus (pun intended).

But those are good disciplines to grow into. 

It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.

Post processing is something I know very little about, but I'd like to learn more. However, I really don't like software subscriptions, so I'm hesitant to get Photoshop since apparently that's the only way you can get it now - via subscription. :( I'm definitely going to be looking into alternatives. 

I still use an old Canon 1000d as my DSLR. It's old and doesn't really do video, but with that one (significant) limitation, it does fine for my general photography needs. I have the basic EFS 18-55mm kit lens, and an EFS 75-300mm zoom lens. I'd like to get a wide angle lens for it eventually, too. I'll probably update the body eventually as well, and get a Canon with higher resolution and that does offer video recording too. I'll probably stick with Canon since I would be able to continue to use my existing lenses. 

For astronomy, I have a couple of cameras - an IMX224 color camera that I usually use with a spotter/guide scope and a IMX294 color camera (ZWO ASI 294mc that I built a DIY programmable Peltier cooler for). The ZWO works great for my astronomy needs.