Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Emergency Backup Gig Keyboard

As I am ready to head out to a gig tonight, I was thinking... "What would happen if my Mojo died?"  Now, I have been playing live since 1970 and I have never had a keyboard fail on me (knock on wood!!!!). But what would happen if it did?  I do have spare power converters and cables, but am not protected against any major failure of the board. I would have no backup to play the gig. 

So what would you recommend for an emergency backup keyboard to play the gig?  Maybe a cheap controller to control my Korg Module?... Something that can stay in my car and won't cost me too much to replace when some crackhead steals it?

'55 and '59 B3's; Leslies 147, 122, 21H; MODX 7+; NUMA Piano X 88; Motif XS7; Mellotrons M300 and M400’s; Wurlitzer 206; Gibson G101; Vox Continental; Mojo 61; Launchkey 88 Mk III; Korg Module; B3X; Model D6; Moog Model D

Two suggestions...

Korg Microstation... tiny, not much bigger than its 5 octaves of mini-keys, weighs under 6 lbs, easy to keep in the car. Very serviceable sounds, and it also has excellent MIDI capabilities, so you could use it as an iPad controller as well.

Samson Graphite 49... no sounds, slightly bigger in all dimensions and about 10 lbs, but cheaper (and still available new), with 4 octaves of decent feeling full-size keys, with aftertouch. Nine sliders so you can even do your drawbar control for your iPad organ app of choice.

• Like 1

Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our now not-so-new new video at https://youtu.be/3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out! And hopefully I'll have something new here this year. ;-)

No exp pedal on the Samson. If you're needing something to get by on as an organ in an emergency - I’d still require that. So even a used MAudio Axiom would do. 

Backup for me might be a VR09. 

Here for the gear.