Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Running a guitar into a Boss GT 6 effects processor and then direct to PA using Roland Direct Drive

We had a rehearsal today and decided beforehand to run direct into the PA without using a microphoned amp.

I ran the guitar into the Boss GT 6 and out to the Roland direct drive to the PA.

However, the guitar sounded wrong.  There was no middle and on my Country Crunch setting it was highly distorted with too much high.

Anyone out there ever have success in getting the correct sound?

There is an EQ button on the Boss GT 6 but I have never used it before.

I've done this before and it sounded ok.

• Like 2

Last night I played a gig at a club with a nice PA system. 

It was a last minute thing for me so I took a Tech 21 Double Drive 3x (three different programable sounds plus bypass) and a Tech 21 active DI with no knobs or adjustments. I programmed the Double Drive in a few minutes on my studio monitors and went to the show. We added some reverb from the PA and the room had a glorious "bigness" to it as well. The crowd clapped for my solos, I thought it sounded pretty good. I used clean, cleanish and moderate overdriven tones. 

The Double Drive provides control over gain and both even order and/or odd order harmonics so there are quite a few tones on tap if you explore. 

Sounds like you need to sit down with your goodie and tweak a bit. Does it have a headphone jack?

If it sounds smooth and full on headphones it should sound pretty darn good through the PA. 

• Like 4
It took a chunk of my life to get here and I am still not sure where "here" is.

10 hours ago, LumpyCotton said:

We had a rehearsal today and decided beforehand to run direct into the PA without using a microphoned amp.

I ran the guitar into the Boss GT 6 and out to the Roland direct drive to the PA.