Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I'm so sick of PC/Windows crap, I could scream

I swear, I am jinxed. Every PC I touch, it goes to crap. I have two laptops and both have driven me crazy. I go to my girlfriends, her PC drives me crazy with bizarre stuff, even after the hard drive totally failed and we had her tech guy put in a new one and reinstalled Windows 98. It still is doing some totally unexplainable stuff. She called me a few days ago from her mom's house, trying to download and install Adobe Acrobat. After a half hour of me holding her hand via phone, I gave up with the seemingly simple task, something I do almost daily. I go to my friends house and work on his state of the art Gateway and it's so bizarre, I give up and he has to call technicians. And I am not a rookie. I've been computing for 18 years! Every one of my computers has been a PC/Windows machine. Why WOULDN'T I want to try an Apple or Mac? And is there a difference between the two? I truly do not know. Here's what I need to do with a computer: - HTML programming - internet surfing - email - occasional spreadsheet or word processing - burning CDs - music: all things to do with music. I am not into recording on computer but I want to get into that. And anything that would help a live gig. Anything a computer will do regarding music, I'd like to get into it. - budget for hardware and software would be $3-$5,000. BTW, I think I need a laptop, since I move around quite a bit. I'm so sick of PC/Windows crap, I am seriously considering abandoning it in favor of Apple or Mac. Why shouldn't I? If Apple of Macs are better, maybe I could get my best of these two laptops to serve as a second computer for backup for apps that must be PC or Windows. My current take on it is that PC/Windows machine suck bigtime. I have no idea if Apple of PC is better. But my computing experience is only getting worse and I have no idea why. I am a heavy user... if anyone gives a computer