Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Should an Audio interface be before or after the mixer?

Dear All,

I'm pretty new to all this so apologies in advance...

I'd like to be able to record three instruments playing along 'live' to a backing track.

I'd like to play the backing track and do the recording on GarageBand.

With regard to the signal chain, is it possible/preferable to connect the USB interface before the mixer so that each of the three instruments is recorded as a separate track in the DAW?

Most YouTube clips show the mixer connected before the interface.. Surely this would 'sum' everything into one stereo track in the DAW? I want to be able to adjust levels, balance etc after recording.

I'd like to use a Behringer UMC404HD interface with my Alto ZMX 862 mixer.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Kind regards

Julian

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

for recording different tracks to a DAW, such as Garageband, etc....

you want you audio interface before the mixer, for exactly the reason you mentioned.

Is your backing track already loaded in Garageband?

David

Gig Rig:Depends on the day :thu:

Hmm, so you have 3 additional tracks to record and want to keep them separate...

I have that same interface and of course it is 4 channel, so I think you want to go from each instrument directly to each input of the interface, and I question that you'd need a mixer at all with that setup.

Edit: Not sure about garageband here...but in Logic I would then arm each of the 3 tracks I'm recording on and set their inputs to be the respective ones from the interface.