Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Amp upgrade

Hey guys! I would love your opinions on this matter. I have been using a Traynor K4 for my amplification for many years. It was the first amp I had ever used, prior to that I had been using computer monitors. I've liked it well enough for a while but then I started getting exposed to different amps and eventually getting studio monitors. Now that I have heard all my gear through my monitors I realize how off the K4 actually sounds. So I want to upgrade to something new. I am not a gigging musician...for now. I play for enjoyment at home. That being said I still take my sound and my gear seriously. When I want to jam with the volume up I turn to my amp so I'm not blowing out my monitors.

Currently my setup consists mostly of synths, with a Rhodes and a Cp70. I plan to be adding a clone wheel of some kind. The only thing that sounds halfway decent through the K4 is the Cp70 but I get the feeling it could sound better. Everything else sounds really muddy compared to my monitors. So I'm looking for something that has strong, clean sound. I'm not opposed to tube amps but my suspicion is that they will color the tone too much. My current contenders are the Motion Sound KP500S, The Spacestation XL, Roland JC120 or a pair of QSC K10/12s. I'd prefer something similar in size to my K4 that way something new takes up the same footprint, so in that sense the pair of K10/12s is less appealing because I'd have to rearrange for two speakers, but I always do hear great things about them.

What do you guys think? Anything I should consider in addition? Also open to vintage options.

Thanks

1974 Rhodes, CP70B, Polivoks, Dominion 1, Behringer D, Mother 32, DFAM, MS20 Mini, Folktek Mescaline, Nord Lead 2x, KArp Odyssey, Jv1080, Digitakt, Hydrasynth,

• Replies 16
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic