Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

I just quit my job....

I've been working for my current employer for the last 4 years. Pretty much since I started our company started to go down the toilet (through no fault of mine honest...)

For the last four years I've survived quarterly lay offs and just when we started to make a profit again and we were promised raises for the first time in 3 years, the powers that be decided to outsource what I do to another company.

So in the next 6 months I could be working for this new company or they could ship all the work out East and I'd be unemployeed.

Anyway, I've never had anything much of a pay raise in that time and currently I'm on the bottom rung of the ladder.

My contract though states that I have to give 3 months notice.

I've just been offered a job elsewhere and I've accepted it and given 1 months notice.

Some other guys quit about 2 months ago and gave 1 months notice and that was fine *but* when it's my turn to quit suddenly this 3 month notice thing is brought up and waved around.

Apparently the difference is that for the other guys quitting there were people to replace them....

For me there mightn't be - so they have to hire someone and try to get me to work the 3 months.

No idea where I stand legally but someone said that it was unlikely that they'd go to court for 50k expenses for someone earning less than 3k in 2 months.

Anyway - should be a happy day for me, but it's been blighted a bit...

Maybe I just care too much? :)

Chris Griffin: Yo, did y'all check me when that hottie was all up in my Kool-Aid? Yeah, I was looking to break off a little somethin' somethin' but my crew gave me the 411 on that skank and she's all about the bling-bling.

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Sorry to hear that you have a hard time.