Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Kronos Users: A Quick Opinion Please?

CowboyNQ

Hey Kronites,

One of my bands is doing a FIFO corporate gig. Backline will be a Kronos. I've never used one before except a quick fiddle in a music shop.

I normally use a Krome and have all sorts of sounds and combis programmed into it. I'm also quite capable at navigating around it on the fly. This said, I will have zero time to familiarise myself with the Kronos before the gig, so any sort of pre-programming is not an option.

Currently I see my options as the following:

a) Pull down the PDF manual of the Kronos and do a bit of study so I can navigate my way to the pre-programmed sounds. I'll be needing things like piano, organ, EP, sawtooth pads, sync leads, square leads, distorted guitar, brass, strings. Maybe back this up with a visit to my local music shop to get a little more familiar with basic navigation.

b) Just take the Krome (really don't want to do this).

OK, now I've got the context out of the way, I would love your opinion on how realistic you think option a) is. I am aware the Kronos is a complex and powerful beast and I wonder if I'm kidding myself.

Cheers!

• Replies 24
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Being familiar with, and finding sounds is not a big deal. But if you need to do any more complex combis with a number of splits and/or layers with specific effects, that may Ben more problematic.

See what version of Kronos it is (1, X, or 2). That will determine patch locations. Try to make sure it is the latest OS. Go to a music store or visit a friend with a Kronos, bring a USB stick and set up all of your patches and combis along with a set list. Save all as a PCG file and load it in the back line Kronos when you get there.

Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.