Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Yowza...The future of classical music

Jazz+

• Replies 33
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There is a bevy of very attractive, provocatively dressed young women playing classical piano on youtube vids these days. Three names that come to mind are Lola Astanova (above), Anastasia Huppmann and Khatia Buniatishvili (for me I enjoy Buniatishvili's playing most of the 3).

Each seem to have genuine training and street cred (if that's the appropriate term in the classical world), and yet I've yet to hear anything that moves me like, say Martha Argerich or Helene Grimaud.

I'm not a classical expert by any means. I just know what I like. Yes, a straight guy enjoys a pretty face, a swelling bustline and a tight short dress. Yay marketing.

But when I want to listen to classical piano the short dress and cleavage doesn't matter.

So I'm curious your opinions between, say, these two?:

[video:youtube]

[video:youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_asI5WvGVQs&t=1941s

But when I want to listen to classical piano the short dress and cleavage doesn't matter.

Wow. That's a tough one. I guess I'll have to go with the cleavage. As much out of habit as anything.

Whenever you find yourself on the side of the majority, it is time to pause and reflect.

-Mark Twain

Fitting tribute to a Pole in Paris. Someone has even put up a Chopin with Cherries Paris blog.

A misguided plumber attempting to entertain | MainStage 3 | Axiom 61 2nd Gen | Pianoteq | B5 | XK3c | EV ZLX 12P

Wow. That's a tough one. I guess I'll have to go with the cleavage. As much out of habit as anything.

LOL

I would give her an A+ for overall presentation. She sets a new high bar in visual stage presence, one that is etched in my brain for life. I will compare all future pianists to this.