Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Fender Princeton amp with Rhodes?

Jazz+

Anybody played Rhodes with a Fender Princeton Reverb amp?

I loved the 68 Silverface Princeton Reverb tube amp I had when I was a young guitarist. I long for that same style, smell, tube tone and look in an amp for my Rhodes and organ clone (Mojo 61). I see the Fender Princeton Reverb 68 re-issue is 23 pounds priced around $850 (12 watts, 10 speaker). Has anyone used one of these with a Rhodes. I see they also make a 15 watts special edition Princeton with the 12 inch speaker which would be louder (34 pounds, brown tweed) . The Deluxe at 41 pounds is too heavy for me, Twin is out of the question. Dont tell me it isnt loud enough. I play acoustic piano volume level with jazz duo and trio, drummer plays brushed. No rock pop band volumes ever.

Harry was the Technical Editor of Mark Levine's "The Jazz Theory Book" and helped develop "The Jazz Piano Book." Find 850 of Harry's solo piano arrangements of standards and jazz tutorials at https://www.patreon.com/HarryLikas 

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I used to practice on my Rhodes plugged into an old Alamo tube amp with similar specs. It sounded great, and I'd bet this would too, although I haven't tried one.

Amazing how the value of these original small Fender amps has gone through the roof as of late. I remember seeing old Princeton's for $150, and Deluxes for $250 back in the 80's.

Anybody played Rhodes with a Fender Princeton Reverb amp?

I have not, I use a Twin Reverb. Yes, it is too heavy for gigging. That being said, were it me, I would go with the special edition Princeton as it has a 12" speaker. My dos centavos.

:nopity:

Princetons sound fantastic with Rhodes/Wurlies. They are going for around a grand these days, at least locally, but make great recording amps.

I would not use one live with a loud band, but for what you describe it should be fine.

Not a ton of low end.