Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Motif xs8 and roli block

heehee62

I have a motif xs8 right now. Thinking about giving it to my 6 year old niece to start learning the piano with. Would buy myself either the roli rise or blocks as a substitute.

1. Is the motif good for someone to learn with? My mom's last teacher insisted an actual piano was needed.

2. How well does the Bluetooth work with the roli?

3. I currently have studio monitors. But I'm not a pro and I was thinking I'd just get regular old Bluetooth speakers for myself once I gave my current system to my niece. Is that a bad idea? I'll use irig to hook up microphones and a guitar sometimes too sometimes.

4. Does the mac offer much more than an iPad when it comes to roli? Don't want to get a mac.

5. Am I going to regret switching to a roli completely?

• Replies 5
  • Created
  • Last Reply

1) Yes. No. Maybe. It's akin to giving your niece a manual transmission roadster (that won't start unless you feather the gas just right) for her driving lessons. No built-in speakers. Lots of buttons to press to make it be anything BUT a "piano," with all the distractions that take away from quality learning/practice. In my opinion, inappropriate.

2) Very well.

3) Bluetooth speakers have an inherent latency that will make them useless for playing like you're thinking. They're fine for playing back tunes off your device, but you'll absolutely notice a delay between playing a note and hearing it.*

4) Yes, way more. But if you don't want to get a Mac, don't get a Mac.

5) Yes. This isn't an instrument you "switch" to. It's not a piano. It's not a keyboard, in spite of the layout that borrows from the traditional piano paradigm. It's an alternate controller that opens up a whole other aspect of performance and expression, but it's NOT a replacement for a traditional keyboard (especially a weighted one). **