Jump to content


Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Mac Ibook Users


Recommended Posts

i just got my first mac, an ibook 500mhz with 320megs of ram, on it i have reason, battery,cubase, and i'm going to get "Live". what i want to know is when you allocate ram to programs and lock it, does that mean that even when that program is closed that the system still sees the allocated ram as missing while using another program. or will I have use of my whole 320mb when i use another program?
Link to comment
Share on other sites



  • Replies 3
  • Created
  • Last Reply
"Locking" has nothing to do with holding allocated memory. If this check box is selected, it just won't allow you to make any other memory allocations for that application until it is unchecked. Notice the "minimum" and "prefered" text boxes are no longer available in the "Memory" window when the "locked" check box is selected. No idea why this feature is available, though. If you quit your current application, memory is reallocated to the system for other applications.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...