Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Help With Beginner Piano Teaching

Iconoclast

First: I'm not a beginner. But I've never taught piano.

Recently my grandaughter (11 yrs old) moved in with us and has been expressing interest in the piano.

I want to find a book that I can work through with her to get her started. My goal isn't really to teach her much but more gauge her interest, get her started, and then get her a real teacher if things go well.

Typically I find that learning through a relative is a doomed venture, but I just want to help her get going.

What do you guys recommend?

You want me to start this song too slow or too fast?

Forte7, Nord Stage 3, XK3c, OB-6, Arturia Collection, Mainstage, MotionSound KBR3D. A bunch of MusicMan Guitars, Line6 stuff

• Replies 19
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Personally, I wouldn't advise this. You have a piano, let her play around a bit and feel free to show her things here and there. For anything formal (as a book would be), I'd hire a teacher on the outside. You never want her relationship with music to be mixed up with her relationship with you (and vice versa). For example, if she doesn't like your sessions, it might not be because she doesn't like piano, she might just feel pressure to please Grandpa. Conversely, if they go well, and you decide to get her outside lessons, she may read some rejection into it that you didn't intend, and decide she doesn't want to continue unless it's with you. Even if it all goes well with you teaching her, in two years when the rebellion phase hits in full, she may throw the "baby" (music) out with the bathwater (Grandpa), because she can't "decouple" the two.

My own personal advice: hire a teacher to come do a couple of trial lessons with her, and just make yourself available for coaching and practice-help.

Now out! "Mind the Gap," a 24-song album of new material.
www.joshweinstein.com