Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Keyboard vs Piano for Beginner?

Belldog

I've done plenty of research online and a fair amount of spelunking on the forums. Apologies in advance for a noob question, but I am new to this stuff. I'll try to keep this mercifully short but also hopefully give y'all enough information to get an idea of what I'm trying to do.

I've been researching keyboards ahead of taking lessons for the first time. I know my best bet is something with 61+ keys, so I've narrowed my options down to either a Roland Juno DS-61 or DS-88 (won't bore you with the process of how I got to that particular keyboard).

I know the 88 is going to feel a bit closer to playing piano even if it's not quite the same action. Given that I'm likely to be playing more synth than piano sounds on my own time, I'm wondering if there are any advantages to having the full range of the 88 or if I'm better off saving a few quid and going for the 61 instead. Besides the feel and the range, are there practical disadvantages if I pass up the 88? And even though I know this is a years-long process, what can I do (in addition to a ton of practice) that would help me get better faster?

If there are considerations I'm overlooking, or questions I should be asking (whether of myself or of a teacher once I start looking for one), feel free to chime in with those as well.

Thanks!

• Replies 8
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I teach Piano and here are my suggestions. Get something like a Casio PX5. I love Roland stuff but am not familiar with the DS88 and if it has a weighted action. If it does that will do fine also. It will give you a Piano feel keyboard which I think is essential to develope your finger / hand dexterity. It has a ton of synth sounds to play with along with a pretty good piano. Many serious organists practice piano for that reason.