Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

The realistic experience of a musician in Austin, Tx...

So I've researched Austin, Tx a fair amount this week and 9 out of 10 people say great things about the city. It looks like a great fit if I can earn enough $$$ to stay alive there.

I read a few articles saying a lot of clubs in Austin are goin' under and that musicians are lucky if they walk away with $10.00 from a gig. ?????

My question is: Is it realistic to expect a significant income from gigging in Austin? I play guitar, bass and I sing. I'm thinking my bass playing will be most in demand. How much money are musicians making there each month?

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

There are *always* a lot of clubs going under, and it seems like another one pops up, usually in the same spot, in a few weeks.

Dunno about making a living as a musician, I'm not that good... being a bass player should help tho.

Drfuzz

"I'm just here to regulate the funkiness"

It's true about clubs going under all the time - especially the ones that attract college kids and the "people in black", you know, the gothy self-destructive types.

In Austin a lot depends on the kind of music you play - there are long-standing clubs and restaurants that feature blues, old fashioned country, new fashioned country, folk and acoustic, roots rock, jazz, mariachi, retro R&B, etc.

Electronic and dance - well, there are some, but it's generally not considered "Austin" type music, according to the image Austin has cultivated. Even tho' Francis Preve the writer for Keyboard who covers electronic and dance stuff lives here.

There are a good number of festivals - I'm sure you've heard of South by Southwest - also the Kerrville Folk Festival an hour's drive away that's been going forever.