Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ground lift question

Dr88s

I have no background in any kind of electronics. This is all a mystery to me.

I splurged and bought a Key Largo. I tried to use it last night, but it seemed to fail with whatever set up I had at my practice space. My question is actually unrelated.

Being my first time using it, I started to troubleshoot at home with a more basic setup. Something came up that I don't understand, and I'm wondering if it's normal.

The KL has paired outputs, a set of stereo 1/4 inch for a monitor(s), and a pair of XLR for FOH.

I tested each side of each channel with my Nord, outputting to my EV-ZLX12 which has combo jacks that except both 1/4" and XLR.

When I ran the monitor output into the EV through a 1/4" TS, there was a pronounced hum in the 'lift' position which disappeared in the down position. Even in the down position, if I was physically touching the top of the box, there was a quiet hum. Interestingly, when outputting to the exact same monitor using XLRs (MAIN output), there was no hum at all.

What gives? Does this have anything to do with the cable I was using, based on this description?

I did not want to hijack the KL thread.

Nord Stage 2 Compact, Yamaha MODX8

• Replies 26
  • Created
  • Last Reply
[...] When I ran the monitor output into the EV through a 1/4" TS, there was a pronounced hum in the 'lift' position which disappeared in the down position. Even in the down position, if I was physically touching the top of the box, there was a quiet hum. Interestingly, when outputting to the exact same monitor using XLRs (MAIN output), there was no hum at all.

What gives? Does this have anything to do with the cable I was using, based on this description?

I don't have any personal experience with the Key Largo, but according to this...

http://www.prosoundweb.com/channels/live-sound/radial-engineering-releases-key-largo-keyboard-mixer/