Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Ready to play piano in a band?

cantstoplt021

I've been playing piano for a couple years now and I'm looking to get my playing to the next level. I know from personal experience that playing in bands and gigging takes your skills to a whole new level. I'm curious if I'm ready to start playing with groups. I feel like I can learn things on piano, but I can't sit down and play it like I can with guitar, bass or drums. Here's a demo I did that consists of a bunch of random things I know how to play. There's some Bach, jazz heads, random songs, etc. It's all over the map. Not my best playing ever, but you get the idea.

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

What kind of band? This has a bearing on what I think is the most important tonal and touch approach.

Do you play any other instruments? Just curious of your musical frame of reference. This has bearing on what I think is the most important thing surviving a band situation.

The Chops are fine. There are many levels of bands. There is a band out there for everyone. When I was in 6th grade my friends and I started bands. If you only played half as good as you do you could still play with others.

"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!

So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

You're fine. Learn some chords and join a rock band. For the first few months, you will probably spend more time developing your ear (don't play so much; learn to listen) than you will working on your chops.

[video:youtube]

Hammond: L111, M100, M3, BC, CV, Franken CV, A100, D152, C3, B3

Leslie: 710, 760, 51C, 147, 145, 122, 22H, 31H

Yamaha: CP4, DGX-620, DX7II-FD-E!, PF85, DX9

Roland: VR-09, RD-800

Yes, you are.

You will make mistakes. The first band might fire you. It could be a disaster.