Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

NP3 programming - Why 4 banks of 50?

Boatguy

I'm new to Nord and just began playing an NP3 which I like very much so far; but for one thing. The programming is intuitive, easy and accessible, but the organization is mind boggling. Four banks of 50 programs map to 5 buttons by using only the x1-x5 program numbers? Huh? And then the "shortcut" is that I can scroll through the "1's" by holding down the "1" key with one hand, and spinning the knob with the other. Two hands to scroll through similar programs, assuming I've spread them out into the Bank:x1 program locations?

It seems like the obvious way to organize the programs would be 5 banks of 40 programs each. I could put all similar programs into each bank (e.g., Grands, Uprights, EPs, Synths, Other), each bank would map to a button and if I selected button "1", then spinning the Program knob would cycle through all the programs in Bank 1 (fine - call it "A" instead of "1").

Is there some historical Nord reason for mapping 4 banks of 50 to 5 buttons by only using program numbers x1-x5? It's extraordinarily convoluted.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Well looking at the line, 5, 50, 100 seem to be a popular storage values. Although - 99 Programs on the Lead 4 and 2X is interesting.

Nord Stage

4 Banks x 20 Pages x 5 Programs (400 locations)

Nord Electro

Program Mode (8 banks x 50 programs), Live Mode and Set List Mode

Nord Piano 2

2 Banks x 24 Pages x 5 programs (240 locations)

Nord Lead A1

8 x 50 Programs, 2 x 50 Performances

Nord Lead 4

4 x 99 Programs, 2 x 50 Performances

Nord Lead 2X

4 x 99 Programs, 100 Performances

Congrats on the NP3. You're one of the early adopters here on KC. Just a few others guys have it. How does the new action compare to the HA and HP models we've seen from them before?

Yamaha CP88, Casio PX-560

Thanks! It plays very nicely.